Borno produces female elected chairman as APC sweeps LG polls


Chairman Borno State Independent Electoral Commission BOSIEC Alhaji Lawan Maina while declaring the results of Saturday’s local government election at the Commission’s headquarters in Maiduguri.

By Dauda Iliya

The Borno state Independent Electoral Commission BOSIEC, has declared All Progressives Congress APC winner of all the twenty seven council chairmen in the last Saturday’s local government election in the state.

Chairman of the Commission who is also the Chief Returning officer, Alhaji Lawan Maina while declaring the final result at the headquarters of BOSIEC in Maiduguri said APC also clinched all the three hundred and twelve councillorship position.

He said section 10 of the Borno state Independent Electoral Commission law 2002 as amended has empowered him as the chief electoral officer to declare the results of local government elections conducted by the Commission.

“the ruling party APC has won all the twenty seven local government council elections in the state. Equally, the ruling party has won 312 council members in all the wards in the state” Maina said. 

The election produced Hajiya Inna Galadima as the first female elected council chairman in the state under the fourth republic.

She polled 110, 459 to defeat five other contestetants to become chairman of Jere local government.

A total of six political parties, comprising the All Progressives Congress (APC), Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP), Social Democratic Party (SDP), Labour Party (LP) and Allied People’s Movement (APM) participated in the election. 

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *