By Amaka Ene

Senator Godswill Akpabio has emerged the Senate President, after an election by the 109 senators.

Senator Akpabio polled 63 to defeat his opponent, Senator Abdulaziz Yari, who scored 46 votes.

Meanwhile the Senator representing Kano North, Barau Jibrin was nominated and adopted as the Deputy Senate President.

Our Correspondent reports that the Lawmakers were duly sworn in by the Clerk of the National Assembly, Mr Magaji Tambuwal.

Highlight of inauguration of the 10th Assembly is that the two Chambers commenced election of their leaders concurrently.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *