Jigawa Assembly Suspends 3 Local Government Councils Chairmen


By Usman Muhammad Zaria

Jigawa State House of Assembly has suspended three local government council chairmen on alleged travelling out of the country without seeking permission from the state executive or legislative.

Radio Nigeria reports that, the suspended chairmen include Mubarak Ahmed of Yankwashi local government, Rufai Sunusi, Gumel local government and Umar Baffa of Birniwa local government who was said to have traveled to Ruwanda.

The House took the decision, after chairman house committee on local government affairs, Alhaji Aminu Zakari Tsubut forwarded a motion for the suspension the affected council chairmen.

According to him, prior to their travelling, the state house of assembly has given an order for the local government council chairmen in the state not to travel anywhere due to the preparation of 2024 state appropriation bill and has been presentation to the assembly by governor Umar Namadi.

Tsubut described the action of the chairmen as insabordination, nonchalant attitude to the primary responsibility which ought to be investigated according to the law.

The members representing Mallam Madori constituency, Usman Abdullahi Tura and Member representing Guri, Hamza Guri seconded the motion moved by Tsubut.

The House therefore, unanimously approved for the suspension of the three local government chairmen and directed the vice chairmen of the affected coincils to take over.

However, the house constituted a committee under the chairmanship of the Majority Leader of the house Lawan Muhammad Dansure to investigate the matter and report back to the house within 4 weeks for further action.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *