By Ahmed Yerima
On September 30, 2023, the Taraba State governorship election petition tribunal, situated in Jalingo, rendered a verdict affirming the election victory of Governor Agbu Kefas from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) as the duly elected governor of the state.

The three-member panel, led by Justice G.A Sunmonu, dismissed the petition jointly filed by the New Nigerian Peoples Party (NNPP) and its gubernatorial candidate, Professor Sani Yahaya, citing a lack of merit.

Gift fm, reported that the NNPP and its gubernatorial candidate had submitted a petition to the Election Petition Tribunal, seeking the annulment of the March gubernatorial election results in Taraba. They alleged that the election was marred by irregularities and non-compliance with the 2022 Electoral Act.

The panel of justices unanimously concluded that the NNPP’s petition and its gubernatorial candidate lacked constitutional merit and failed to substantiate their claims.

In response to the judgment, the state’s deputy governor, Alh Aminu Alkali, characterized it as an affirmation of the people’s choice. He urged the opposition to join Governor Kefas in his efforts to transform Taraba State.

It’s worth noting that the NNPP’s legal team declined to engage with journalists and departed from the court premises in a state of frustration.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *