Abdulkarim Lawan Emerges Speaker Borno Assembly for 4th Consecutive time


Speaker 10th Borno state House of Assembly Honourable Abdulkarim Lawan while making his inaugural address shortly after been sworn in.

By Dauda Iliya

The Borno state House of Assembly has unanimously elected Abdulkarim Lawan as Speaker of the tenth Assembly. 

Honourable Lawan was the immediate past speaker of the nineth Assembly and had been presiding over the House since the sixth Assembly. 

Clerk of the Assembly Mr. Jidayi Mamza announced that the House has received proclamation from the state Governor Babagana Zulum to hold its first session on the thirteenth of June, 2023.

Speaker Borno state House of Assembly Abdulkarim Lawan presiding over the swearing-in of new members at the floor of the Assembly in Maiduguri.

“The House has received message of proclamation from his Excellency Borno state Governor Babagana Zulum requesting it to hold its first session on Tuesday, 13 June 2023 based on powers conferred on him in section 105 sub section 3 of the 1999 Constitution as amended ”  Clerk of the House announced. 

Member-elect representing Marte, Gambomi Marte moved for the nomination of Abdulkarim Lawan and seconded by member-elect representing Jere Abba Kyari Kolo.

The House also unanimously elected the immediate past Deputy Speaker Abdullahi Musa from Askira/Uba state constituency as the Deputy Speaker. 

Both members accepted the nomination and expressed readiness to serve. 

In his acceptance speech shortly after taking the oath of office and that of allegiance, Honourable Abdulkarim Lawan who has been the Speaker for twelve years, commended the members for re-electing him, noting that the House is united.

He urged the newly inaugurated members to tighten their belt and work closely with the executive arm to transform the state in areas of education, food security, security among others.

The Speaker promised to operate an open door policy to move the Assembly to another level. 

The Speaker also announced names of principal officers of the tenth Assembly which include House Leader Dige Mohammed form Kala Balge state constituency, Chief Whip Baba Ali Modu from Mafa, Deputy Leader, Malami Wakil Korede from Damboa and Audu Mustapha from Magumeri. 

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *